TOWN OF LAFAYETTE

ORDINANCE ESTABLISHING SPLIT SHIFTS FOR ELECTION OFFICIALS

ORDINANCE 2 - 07

SECTION 1.0 PURPOSE

This ordinance, entitled *Ordinance Establishing Split Shifts for Election Officials*, is being created to allow Election Inspectors to work partial days and to give the Clerk of the Town of LaFayette the flexibility to schedule Election Inspectors to fully cover the duties of the election process as required by the State of Wisconsin.

SECTION 2.0 AUTHORITY

The Town Board of the Town of LaFayette, County of Walworth, State of Wisconsin, has the specific authority under § 7.30(1), WI State Statutes, to adopt this ordinance.

SECTION 3.0 SPLIT SHIFTS

- A. The day for Election Inspectors shall typically commence at 6:30 am and end with the completion of all required Election Day duties following the closure of the polls.
- B. Election Inspectors may be appointed and scheduled, at the discretion of the Town Clerk, to work less than a full day on Election Day and to alter the shift times as necessary to cover the duties of the Election Day process as required by the laws of the State of Wisconsin. Typical work shifts are split from 6:30 am until 2:00 pm and 2:00 pm until the completion of the Election Day duties following the closure of the polls.

SECTION 4.0 ELECTION DAY GREETER

At the discretion of the Clerk, one additional Election Inspector may serve on Election Day as a Greeter to answer questions and direct electors to the proper locations for registration and voting. The Greeter shall also be available to substitute for other Election Inspectors who must leave the room during the voting process. The Election Day Greeter may work less than a full day at the discretion of the Town Clerk.

SECTION 5.0 SEVERABILITY

If any section, clause or portion of this ordinance is adjudged unconstitutional or invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the remainder of this ordinance shall not be affected thereby.

This Ordinance adopted by the Town Board of the Town of LaFayette on this 9th day of July 2014 and is effective on publication or posting as required under § 60.80, WI State Statutes.

	Daniel D Cooper, Chair	
Barbara A Fischer, Town Clerk-Treasurer		